Return to HomepageHome 242 Lee Avenue, PO Box 668, Beattyville, KY 41311  Phone: 606.464.5000 | Fax: 606.464.5009
Beattyville - Birthplace of Kentucky River (taken by C.Beach III)

Beattyville - Birthplace of Kentucky River (taken by C.Beach III)

January 2014 Designated School Board Recognition Month

Lee County Schools to Honor Leaders

During School Board Recognition Month


Kentucky will again observe January as School Board Recognition Month and the Lee County School District is joining in the celebration. Across the Commonwealth, Kentucky’s 173 public school systems will use January to recognize the work of the state’s nearly 862 local school board members.

The Lee County Board of Education is composed of William Owens - Board Chairman, Larry Burgess – Board Vice Chairman, Curtis E. Davis – Board Member, Janie Thorpe – Board Member, and Melissa Lacy Judd – Board Member.

“The voters of our community have created a special group of education leaders in this board,” said Superintendent Jim Evans.  “They are true partners in the work to ensure every child in every classroom can experience high quality teaching and learning.”  “When you consider how state and federal funding is shrinking, our school board has faced tremendous challenges, and it hasn’t flinched from its responsibilities,” Evans said. “Our community can be very proud of this team of board members, and I’m proud to be their partner working for education excellence for our children.”

 “The past several years have challenged school leaders, board members, and superintendents alike, to support continued academic progress,” said Kentucky School Boards Association (KSBA) President Durward Narramore, a member of the Jenkins Independent Board of Education.  “In 2013, Education Week’s Quality Counts report ranked Kentucky in the Top 10. Our school board members played a role in that kind of improvement. I’m proud to be a local school board member in this state.”

Please join the Lee County School District in honoring our school board members this January.  Their dedication and vision are instrumental to ensuring Lee County students are afforded an excellent education and therefore, a successful future.

Back to School News     Print News Article